2017 CMA Awards: Garth Brooks, Miranda Lambert, Chris Stapleton among the winners

November 8, 2017

by Carla Hay

Garth Brooks, Miranda Lambert and Chris Stapleton were among the winners at the 51st Annual CMA Awards, which took place at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville on November 8, 2017. Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood hosted the show for the 10th year. ABC had the U.S. telecast of the show, which is a production of the Country Music Association.

Brooks took the prize for Entertainer of the Year, making it the sixth time he has won this prize at the CMA Awards. He is the most-awarded artist in this CMA Awards category. Lambert was named Female Vocalist of the Year. Stapleton won two awards: Male Vocalist of the Year and Album of the Year (for “From a Room: Volume 1”). All three artists performed on the show.

Other 2017 CMA Awards performers included Brothers Osborne, Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Lambert, Little Big Town, Old Dominion, Jon Pardi, Chris Stapleton, Thomas Rhett, Underwood and Alan Jackson.

Winners of the 51st Annual CMA Awards were determined in a final round of voting by eligible CMA members. Ballots were tabulated by the professional services organization Deloitte & Touche LLP. Robert Deaton was the executive producer and Gary Halvorson was the director of the awards telecast.

Here is the complete list of winners and nominees for the 51st Annual CMA Awards:

** = winner

Entertainer of the Year

Garth Brooks**
Luke Bryan
Eric Church
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Male Vocalist of the Year

Dierks Bentley
Eric Church
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton**
Keith Urban

Female Vocalist of the Year

Kelsea Ballerini
Miranda Lambert**
Reba McEntire
Maren Morris
Carrie Underwood

Vocal Group of the Year

Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town**
Old Dominion
Rascal Flatts
Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo of the Year

Brothers Osborne**
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae

New Artist of the Year

Lauren Alaina
Luke Combs
Old Dominion
Jon Pardi**
Brett Young

Musician of the Year

Jerry Douglas (dobro)
Paul Franklin (steel guitar)
Dann Huff (guitar)
Mac McAnally (guitar)**
Derek Wells (guitar)

Album of the Year

Little Big Town – “The Breaker”
Lady Antebellum – “Heart Break”
Jason Isbell – “The Nashville Sound”
Miranda Lambert – “The Weight of These Wings”
Chris Stapleton – “From A Room: Volume 1″**   

Single of the Year  

Little Big Town – “Better Man ”
Sam Hunt – “Body Like a Back Road”
Jon Pardi – “Dirt on My Boots”
Miranda Lambert – “Tin Man”
Keith Urban – “Blue Ain’t Your Color”**     

Song of the Year

Taylor Swift – “Better Man”**
Clint Lagerberg, Hillary Lindsey, Steven Lee Olsen – “Blue Ain’t Your Color”
Zach Crowell, Sam Hunt, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne – “Body Like a Back Road”
Rhett Akins, Jesse Frasure, Ashley Gorley – “Dirt on My Boots”
Jack Ingram, Miranda Lambert, Jon Randall – “Tin Man”

Vocal Event of the Year

Thomas Rhett and Maren Morris – “Craving You”
Willie Nelson and Glen Campbell – “Funny How Time Slips Away”**
Eric Church and Rhiannon Giddens – “Kill a Word”
Kenny Chesney and P!nk – “Setting the World on Fire”
Tim McGraw and Faith Hill – “Speak to a Girl”

Video of the Year

Brothers Osborne – “It Ain’t My Fault”**  
Little Big Town – “Better Man”
Keith Urban – “Blue Ain’t Your Color”
Thomas Rhett featuring Maren Morris – “Craving You”
Miranda Lambert – “Vice”

Copyright 2017-2024 Culture Mix