2018 CMA Awards: Keith Urban, Chris Stapleton win big

November 14, 2018

by Carla Hay

Keith Urban was named Entertainer of the Year, while Chris Stapleton won the most prizes (three) at the 52nd Annual CMA Awards, which took place at Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena on November 14, 2018. Stapleton was named Male Vocalist of the Year, while his “Broken Halos” single (which he co-wrote) was named Song of the Year and Single of the Year.

Carrie Underwood, who hosted the CMA Awards for the 11th consecutive year with Brad Paisley, took the prize for Female Vocalist of the Year. Kasey Musgraves was the only other female artist to win at the 2018 CMA Awards: She won Album of the Year for “Golden Hour.”

Other winners were Old Dominion (Group of the Year), Brothers Osborne (Duo of the Year) and Mac McAnally (Musician of the Year).

Performers included Urban, Stapleton with Maren Morris, Underwood, Paisley, Kelsea Ballerini, Luke Bryan, Kenny Chesney, Dan + Shay, Old Dominion, Dierks Bentley with Brothers Osborne, Florida Georgia Line with Bebe Rexha, Kacey Musgraves, Pistol Annies, Thomas Rhett, Eric Church, Lauren Alaina, Brad Paisley, Ricky Skaggs and Mavis Staples.

Presenters included Jimmie Allen, Bobby Bones, Kane Brown, Sharna Burgess, Olivia Culpo, Mackenzie Foy, Lady Antebellum, Little Big Town, Dustin Lynch, Martina McBride and Carly Pearce, Dennis Quaid, Lionel Richie, Noah Schnapp, Lara Spencer, Rita Wilson and Trisha Yearwood.

Here is the complete list of nominees and winners of the 2018 CMA Awards:

Entertainer of the Year
Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Kenny Chesney
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban*

Single of the Year
Award goes to artist, producer(s) and mix engineer(s)

Chris Stapleton – “Broken Halos”*
Producers: Dave Cobb, Chris Stapleton
Mix Engineer: Vance Powell

Midland – “Drinkin’ Problem”
Producers: Dann Huff, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne
Mix Engineer: Justin Niebank

Jason Aldean featuring Miranda Lambert – “Drowns the Whiskey”
Producer: Michael Knox
Mix Engineer: Jeff Braun

Bebe Rexha & Florida Georgia Line – “Meant to Be”
Producer: Willshire
Mix Engineer: Serban Ghenea

Dan + Shay – “Tequila”
Producers: Scott Hendricks, Dan Smyers
Mix Engineer: Jeff Juliano

Album of the Year
Award goes to artist and producer(s)

Chris Stapleton – “From a Room: Volume 2”
Producers: Dave Cobb, Chris Stapleton

Kacey Musgraves – “Golden Hour”*
Producers: Ian Fitchuk, Daniel Tashian, Kacey Musgraves

Keith Urban – “Graffiti U”
Producers: Keith Urban, Dan McCarroll, J.R. Rotem, Josh Kerr, Jason Evigan, Greg Wells, Benny Blanco, Ed Sheeran, Johnny McDaid, Jesse Shatkin, Jimmy Robbins, Oscar Holter, Matt Rad, Eric Valentine, Ian Kirkpatrick, Mike Elizondo, Captain Cuts, Ross Copperman, Dann Huff, Peter Karlsson

Thomas Rhett – “Life Changes
Producers: Julian Bunetta, Jesse Frasure, Dann Huff, Joe London, Thomas Rhett

Dierks Bentley – “The Mountain”
Producers: Ross Copperman, Jon Randall Stewart, Arturo Buenahora Jr.

Song of the Year
Award goes to songwriter(s)

“Body Like a Back Road”
Songwriters: Zach Crowell, Sam Hunt, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne

“Broken Halos”*
Songwriters: Mike Henderson, Chris Stapleton

“Drowns the Whiskey”
Songwriters: Brandon Kinney, Jeff Middleton, Josh Thompson

“Drunk Girl”
Songwriters: Scooter Carusoe, Tom Douglas, Chris Janson

Songwriters: Nicolle Galyon, Jordan Reynolds, Dan Smyers

Female Vocalist of the Year
Kelsea Ballerini
Miranda Lambert
Maren Morris
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood*

Male Vocalist of the Year
Dierks Bentley
Luke Combs
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton*
Keith Urban

Vocal Group of the Year
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Old Dominion*

Vocal Duo of the Year
Brothers Osborne*
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae

Musician of the Year
Jerry Douglas, Dobro
Paul Franklin, Steel Guitar
Dann Huff, Guitar
Mac McAnally, Guitar*
Derek Wells, Guitar

Award winners announced prior to the 2018 CMA Awards telecast:

Musical Event of the Year
Award goes to each artist

Dierks Bentley featuring Brothers Osborne – “Burning Man”
Maren Morris featuring Vince Gill – “Dear Hate”
Jason Aldean featuring Miranda Lambert – “Drowns the Whiskey”
David Lee Murphy with Kenny Chesney – “Everything’s Gonna Be Alright”*
Bebe Rexha & Florida Georgia Line – “Meant to Be”

Music Video of the Year
Award goes to artist and director(s)

Sugarland featuring Taylor Swift – “Babe”
Director: Anthony Mandler

Carrie Underwood– “Cry Pretty”
Director: Randee St. Nicholas

Chris Janson – “Drunk Girl”
Director: Jeff Venable

Thomas Rhett – “Marry Me”*
Director: TK McKamy

Dan + Shay – “Tequila”
Director: Patrick Tracy

New Artist of the Year
Lauren Alaina
Luke Combs*
Chris Janson
Brett Young

Broadcast Personality of the Year

“American Country Countdown” (Kix Brooks) – Westwood One
“Bob Kingsley’s Country Top 40” (Bob Kingsley) – Westwood One
“Country Countdown USA” (Lon Helton) – Westwood One*
“The Mayor of Music Row” (Charlie Monk) – Sirius XM Satellite Radio
“The Music Row Happy Hour” (Buzz Brainard) – Sirius XM Satellite Radio

Major Market
“Bud and Broadway” (Bud Ford, Jerry Broadway, Kelly Rebal, “Captain Mac Douglas” Gregory Paul Ford, “T.Wall” Tom Wall, and “Sweet Becca” Walls) – WIL St. Louis, MO*
“Double-L” (Lois Lewis) – KNIX Phoenix, AZ
“Hawkeye in the Morning” (“Hawkeye” Mark Louis Rybczyk, Jasmine Sadry, and “Connected K” Katelyn Maida) – KSCS Dallas-Fort Worth, TX
“KYGO Morning Show” (Tracy Dixon, Guy David, and Patrick Knight) – KYGO Denver-Boulder, CO
“Tim, Ben and Brooke” (Tim Hattrick, Ben Campbell, and Brooke Hoover) – KNIX Phoenix, AZ

Large Market
“Jim, Deb & Kevin” (Jim Denny, Deborah Honeycutt, and Kevin Freeman) – WFMS Indianapolis, IN*
“Obie & Ashley in the Morning” (Obie Diaz and Ashley Stegbauer) – WWKA Orlando, FL
“Q Morning Crew” (Mike Wheless and Janie Carothers) – WQDR Raleigh-Durham, NC
“The Randy, Jamie, and Jojo Show” (Randy Carroll, Jamie Martin, and Jojo Meza) – KAJA San Antonio, TX
“Ridder, Scott and Shannen” (“Ridder” Shaun Ridderbush, Scott Dolphin, and Shannen Oesterreich) – WMIL Milwaukee-Racine, WI

Medium Market
“The 97.5 WPCV Breakfast Club” (Roger Todd, “Julie K.” Kansy, and “D.J. Thee Trucker” Dale Sellers) – WPCV Lakeland-Winter Haven, FLA
Brent Michaels – KUZZ Bakersfield, CA
“Ken, Kelley, and Daniel” (Ken Hicks, Kelley Bradshaw, and Daniel Wyatt) – WUSY Chattanooga, TN*
“The Odd Squad” (Roger Rhodes, Robyn Adair, and Dan Carson) – CKRY Calgary, AB
“Scott and Sarah in the Morning” (Scott Wynn and Sarah Kay) – WQMX Akron, OH

Small Market
“Barrett, Fox & Berry” (Bill Barrett, Tim Fox, and Tracy Berry) – KKNU Eugene-Springfield, OR
“The Cat Pak Morning Show” (Brent Lane and Candy Cullerton) – WYCT Pensacola, FL
“The Eddie Foxx Show” (Eddie Foxx and Sharon Green) – WKSF Asheville, NC
“The Good Morning Guys” (Todd Harding, Susan Moore, and Brian Gary) – KUAD Ft. Collins-Greeley, CO
“Steve and Jessica Mornings” (Steve Waters and Jessica Cash) – WFLS Fredericksburg, VA*

Radio Station of the Year

Major Market
KKBQ Houston-Galveston, TX*
KNIX Phoenix, AZ
KUPL Portland, OR
WKKT Charlotte-Gastonia-Rock Hill, NC-SC
WSOC Charlotte-Gastonia-Rock Hill, NC-SC

Large Market
KCYY San Antonio, TX
KUBL Salt Lake City-Ogden-Provo, UT
WQIK Jacksonville, FL
WUBE Cincinnati, OH*
WWKA Orlando, FL

Medium Market
KUZZ Bakersfield, CA
WBBS Syracuse, NY
WHKO Dayton, OH
WUSY Chattanooga, TN*
WYRK Buffalo-Niagara Falls, NY

Small Market
KCLR Columbia, MO
KKNU Eugene-Springfield, OR
KTTS Springfield, MO*
WCOW La Crosse, WI
WKSF Asheville, NC

Copyright 2017-2024 Culture Mix