2018 iHeartRadio MMVAs: Shawn Mendes is the biggest winner

August 26, 2018

Shawn Mendes was the biggest winner, taking four awards, at the 2018 iHeartRadio MMVAs (formerly known as the iHeartRadio MuchMusic Video Awards), which were presented August 26 outside of Bell Media headquarters in Toronto. CTV, Much and MTV Canada had the Canadian telecast of the show, which was hosted by Awkafina.  Loud Luxury was the ceremony’s DJ. Virgin Radio broadcast the show in the Canadian cities of TorontoKitchenerLondonHalifax,Montréal, WinnipegEdmontonCalgary and Vancouver. The ceremony was webcast on CTV.ca, CTV GO, Much.com, iHeartRadio.ca and the iHeartRadio app.
Mendes winning the most awards wasn’t too much of surprise because the Toronto native was the leading contender, with eight nominations, going into the ceremony. Other winners of multiple awards were Drake and Marshmello, who won two prizes each. Logic featuring Cara and Khalid’s “1-800-273-8255” was named Video of the Year. Drake was named Hip Hop Artist or Group of the Year, while his “God’s Plan” video won Best Director. Marshmello was named Best EDM/Dance Artist or Group, while his “Wolves” collaboration with Selena Gomez took the prize for Fan Fave Single.
Mendes opened the show with “Lost in Japan” and closed the show with “In My Blood.” The ceremony’s other performers were Meghan Trainor, Alessia Cara, Halsey (who received the Artist for Change award), Bülow, 98 Degrees, Kris Wu, 5 Seconds of Summer and The Beaches. The show also had a few collaborations: Bebe Rexha performed “I’m a Mess” before teaming up with Brett Kissel for “Meant to Be.” Marshmello and Anne-Marie performed “Friend,” before Anne-Marie did “2002.” Elijah Woods x Jamie Fine and Tyler Shaw were the pre-show performers.
Presenters included Tyra Banks, Bülow, Tyler Shaw, Derek Hough, Chrissy Metz, Ashlee Simpson, Evan Ross, The Reklaws, Gus Kenworthy, Madison Beer, Scott Helman, Francesco Yates, Jus Reign, Craig McMorris, Sofi Tukker, Sonequa Martin-Green, Alexandra Shipp and Colton Haynes.
Here is the complete list of winners and nominees for the 2018 iHeartRadio MMVAs:
Video of the Year
Ariana Grande — “No Tears Left to Cry”
Childish Gambino — “This Is America”
Drake — “God’s Plan”
Halsey — “Bad at Love”
Logic featuring Alessia Cara and Khalid – “1-800-273-8255″*
Shawn Mendes — “In My Blood”
Artist of the Year
Camila Cabello
Cardi B
Ed Sheeran
Shawn Mendes*
Post Malone
Best Pop Artist or Group
Alessia Cara
Camila Cabello
Ed Sheeran
Meghan Trainor
Shawn Mendes*
Best Rock/Alternative Artist or Group
Arcade Fire
Foo Fighters
Imagine Dragons*
Portugal. The Man
Best Hip Hop Artist or Group
Cardi B
The Carters
Childish Gambino
Kendrick Lamar
Post Malone
Best EDM/Dance Artist or Group
Calvin Harris
Loud Luxury
Sofi Tukker
Best Director
The Carters — “Apes**t” (Director: Ricky Saix)
Childish Gambino — “This Is America” (Director: Hiro Murai)
Drake — “God’s Plan” (Director: Karena Evans)*
Drake — “Nice for What” (Director: Karena Evans)
Justin Timberlake featuring Chris Stapleton) — “Say Something” (Director: Arturo Perez Jr.)
Shawn Mendes — “In My Blood” (Director: Jay Martin)
Best New Canadian Artist
The Beaches
Elijah Woods x Jamie Fine*
New City
Johnny Orlando


Song of the Summer
Bebe Rexha featuring Florida Georgia Line — “Meant to Be”
Cardi B, Bad Bunny and J Balvin — “I Like It”
Drake — “Nice for What”
Loud Luxury featuring Brando — “Body”*
Marshmello and Anne-Marie — “Friends”
Zedd, Maren Morris and Grey — “The Middle”

Best Collaboration
Bebe Rexha featuring Florida Georgia Line — “Meant to Be”*
Kendrick Lamar and SZA — “All the Stars”
Marshmello and Anne-Marie — “Friends”
Shawn Mendes featuring Khalid — “Youth”
The Weeknd and Kendrick Lamar — “Pray for Me”
Zedd, Maren Morris and Grey — “The Middle”
Fan Fave Video
Alessia Cara – “Growing Pains”
The Carters — “Apes**t”
Childish Gambino — “This Is America”
Drake — “God’s Plan”
Logic featuring Alessia Cara and Khalid – “1-800-273-8255”
Shawn Mendes — “In My Blood”*
Fan Fave Artist
Alessia Cara
Camila Cabello
Ed Sheeran
Shawn Mendes*
Taylor Swift
Fan Fave Duo or Group
5 Seconds of Summer
Imagine Dragons
Maroon 5
Sofi Tukker
The Chainsmokers
Fan Fave Single
Ariana Grande — “No Tears Left to Cry”
Ed Sheeran — “Perfect”
Camila Cabello — “Havana”
Post Malone featuring 21 Savage — “Rockstar”
Selena Gomez and Marshmello — “Wolves”*
Shawn Mendes — “In My Blood”
Fan Fave New Artist
Cardi B
Billie Eilish
Dua Lipa
Hayley Kiyoko
Kris Wu*
Why Don’t We
Fan Fave Much Creator
Candage Leca
Jaclyn Forbes
SneakerTalk (Christian Cantelon)
The Baker Twins (Shannon Baker and Shauna Baker)
TheDanocracy (Dan Rodo)*
The Mike on Much Podcast (Mike Veerman, Max Kerman and Shane Cunningham)
Copyright 2017-2024 Culture Mix