2018 MTV Europe Music Awards: Camila Cabello is the top winner

November 4, 2018

Camila Cabello
Camila Cabello at the 2018 MTV EMAs 2018 at Bilbao Exhibition Centre in Bilbao, Spain, on November 4, 2018. (Photo by Carlos Alvarez/Getty Images for MTV)

The following is a press release from MTV International:

The “2018 MTV EMAs” opened with badass females ruling the night. Nicki Minaj and Little Mix joined forces for an empowering performance of their collaboration “Woman Like Me.” Just before being joined onstage, Minaj shook the house with her new song “Good Form.”

Global Icon Award honoree Janet Jackson delivered a blazing performance of hits over her legendary 40-year career. The stunning performance spanned four stages and included African drummers, flame torches, fire breathers, more than 20 dancers and an elevated stage surrounded by flames.

Throughout the star-studded global music celebration, Camila Cabello took home four EMA awards including “Best Artist.”

Other highlights include Hailee Steinfeld officially kicking off the show with an EMA award art heist, followed by Panic! At The Disco’s Brendon Urie scaling Bilbao Exhibition Centre’s exterior before crashing through the ceiling to perform “High Hopes.”

Modern Flamenco-inspired sensation and Spain native Rosalía, one of the most buzzed-about acts of the night, rolled on stage in a gigantic truck before rocking the entire house with “Malamente” alongside 24 dancers.

Throughout the night, Steinfeld commanded the stage with her captivating hosting skills, and for her performance, she gave a nod to her upcoming film Bumblebee by performing soundtrack number “Back to Life” from inside a yellow human vehicle, artistically created with more than 20 bodies.

Five-time “MTV EMA” Award-winning English rock band Muse performed “Pressure” from Bilbao’s famed San Mamés Stadium.

Superstar Bebe Rexha delivered a huge show highlight with a mesmerizing performance of “I’m a Mess” while in a bathtub surrounded by nurses and 100 dancers.

Halsey brought the rain—literally—to the arena with an intimate solo performance of “Without Me” surrounded by rainfall.

Jason Derulo sang an operatic rendition of Andrea Bocelli’s “Time to Say Goodbye” before flowing into his collaboration track “Goodbye” with David Guetta and Nicki Minaj, both of whom joined him on stage.

Alessia Cara gave a colorful performance for “Trust Me Lonely” against a backdrop of different settings.

Jack & Jack soared overhead with a thrilling aerial routine for “Rise” before crash landing onto a living room couch, joined on center stage by more than 100 fans.

To close out the show, Marshmello kept the energy booming alongside Anne-Marie for their platinum-certified track “FRIENDS,” followed by Bastille for “Happier.” Five giant inflatable Marshmello heads and hundreds of smaller Marshmello balls took over the venue as the grand finale.

This year’s show also awarded the first-ever “MTV EMA Generation Change Award” to elevate and empower the fearless, original young people who are changing the world.  MTV awarded five changemakers from around the globe, all under the age of 26, during the red carpet pre-show.  The winners are among a generation of young people who are tackling the world’s toughest problems – including fighting for environmental protection, refugee rights, ending child marriage, mental health support and LGBTQ+ equality — through music, storytelling and digital media.

Additionally, MTV recognized artists from around the globe with Worldwide Act awards and Best Local Act awards for multiple regions including Germany, Spain, Japan and Africa. Worldwide Act recognizes those artists who have evolved their footprint and established their names beyond their local borders in 2018.  They are selected from all the regional EMA award nominees by an international panel of MTV music executives. Full Worldwide Act winners list is available here.

See complete list of nominees, winners and performances below.


Best Artist
Ariana Grande
Camila Cabello*
Dua Lipa
Post Malone

Best Video    
Ariana Grande, “No Tears Left to Cry”
Camila Cabello featuring Young Thug, “Havana”*
Childish Gambino, “This Is America”
Lil Dicky featuring Chris Brown, “Freaky Friday”
The Carters, “APES**T”

Best Song                        
Ariana Grande, “No Tears Left to Cry”
Bebe Rexha featuring Florida Georgia Line, “Meant to Be”
Camila Cabello featuring Young Thug, “Havana”*
Drake, “God’s Plan”
Post Malone featuring 21 Savage, “Rockstar”

Best Pop
Ariana Grande
Camila Cabello
Dua Lipa*
Hailee Steinfeld
Shawn Mendes

Best New
Cardi B*
Hayley Kiyoko
Jessie Reyez

Best Look
Cardi B
Dua Lipa
Nicki Minaj*
Post Malone

Best Hip Hop   
Nicki Minaj*
Travis Scott

Best Live                                          
Ed Sheeran
Shawn Mendes*
The Carters

Best Rock         
5 Seconds Of Summer*
Foo Fighters
Imagine Dragons

Best Alternative      
Fall Out Boy
Panic! At the Disco*
The 1975
Thirty Seconds to Mars
Twenty One Pilots

Best Electronic         
Calvin Harris
David Guetta
Martin Garrix
The Chainsmokers

Biggest Fans
Camila Cabello
Selena Gomez
Shawn Mendes
Taylor Swift

Best World Stage                                    
Clean Bandit, MTV Crashes Plymouth, UK 2017
Charli XCX, MTV Crashes Plymouth, UK 2017
David Guetta, Trafalgar Square, UK 2017
Jason Derulo, Isle of MTV, Malta 2018
Post Malone, Wireless Festival, UK 2018
Migos, Wireless Festival, UK 2018
J Cole, Wireless Festival, UK 2018
Nick Jonas, MTV Spotlight @ Hyperplay, Singapore 2018
Alessia Cara, MTV Spotlight @ Hyperplay, Singapore 2018*

Best Push        
PRETTYMUCH (October 2017)
Why Don’t We (November 2017 )
Grace VanderWaal (December 2017)*
Bishop Briggs (January 2018)
Superorganism (February 2018)
Jessie Reyez (March 2018)
Hayley Kiyoko (April 2018)
Lil Xan (May 2018)
Sigrid (June 2018)
Chloe x Halle (July 2018)
Bazzi (August 2018)
Jorja Smith (September 2018)

Ariana Grande
Camila Cabello*
Cardi B
Imagine Dragons
Post Malone


Sonita Alizadeh — 21 years old, Afghanistan

Mohamad Aljounde — 17 years old, Lebanon

Ellen Jones — 20 years old, UK

Xiuhtezcatl “X” Martinez — 18 years old, USA –

Hauwa Ojeifo — 26 years old, Nigeria




Nicki Minaj – “Good Form”

Nicki Minaj and Little Mix – “Woman Like Me”

Panic! At the Disco – “High Hopes”

Rosalía – “Malamente”

Hailee Steinfeld – “Back to Life”

Muse – “Pressure”

Janet Jackson – “Made for Now,” “All for You” and “Rhythm Nation”

Bebe Rexha – “I’m a Mess”

Halsey – “Without Me”

Jason Derulo, David Guetta and Nicki Minaj – “Goodbye”

Alessia Cara – “Trust My Lonely”

Jack & Jack – “Rise”

Marshmello and Anne-Marie – “FRIENDS”

Marshmello and Bastille – Happier”




The “2018 MTV EMAs” will broadcast LIVE on Sunday, 4th November at 9pm CET from Bilbao Exhibition Centre, Spain. One of the biggest global music events of the year that celebrates the hottest artists from around the world, the MTV EMAs bring music fans a unique, multi-platform experience across MTV’s global network in nearly 180 countries and 450 million homes around the world, connecting with over 350 million fans across all social media platforms. Follow @MTVEMA on Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat (@MTVEMA) and Instagram, and join the conversation with #MTVEMA. Bruce Gillmer and Richard Godfrey are Executive Producers for the 2018 MTV EMAs. Debbie Phillips and Ceire Deery are Producers. Hamish Hamilton is Director.


Copyright 2017-2023 Culture Mix