2019 National Board of Review Awards: ‘The Irishman’ is the top winner

December 3, 2019

by Carla Hay

With three prizes, including Best Film, Netflix’s “The Irishman” was the top winner for the 2018 National Board of Review Awards. The Irishman” won the prize for Best Adapted Screenplay (for Steven Zaillian). In addition “The Irishman” director Martin Scorsese and “The Irishman” co-stars Robert De Niro and Al Pacino have been named the recipients of the NBR Icon Award. The National Board of Review consists of filmmakers, academics and other professionals in the movie industry. The awards ceremony will take place at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City on January 8, 2020. NBC’s Willie Geist will be the host.

Columbia Pictures’ “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood,” Warner Bros. Pictures’ “Richard Jewell” and A24’s “Uncut Gems” won two awards each. Quentin Tarantino was named Best Director, and Brad Pitt won Best Supporting Actor for “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood.” “Richard Jewell” garnered prizes for co-stars Paul Walter Hauser (Breakthrough Performance) and Kathy Bates (Best Supporting Actress). Adam Sandler was named Best Actor, while brother duo Josh and Benny Safdie and Ronald Bronstein won Best Original Screenplay for “Uncut Gems.”

Meanwhile, Netflix’s “Marriage Story,” which has been winning several awards elsewhere, was completely snubbed by the National Board of Review.

Here is the complete list of winners of the 2019 National Board of Review Awards:

Best Film: “The Irishman”
Best Director: Quentin Tarantino, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”
Best Actor: Adam Sandler, “Uncut Gems”
Best Actress: Renée Zellweger, “Judy”
Best Supporting Actor: Brad Pitt, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”
Best Supporting Actress: Kathy Bates, “Richard Jewell”
Best Original Screenplay: Josh Safdie, Benny Safdie, Ronald Bronstein, “Uncut Gems”
Best Adapted Screenplay: Steven Zaillian, “The Irishman”
Breakthrough Performance: Paul Walter Hauser, “Richard Jewell”
Best Directorial Debut: Melina Matsoukas, “Queen & Slim”
Best Animated Feature: “How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World”
Best Foreign Language Film: “Parasite”
Best Documentary: “Maiden”
Best Ensemble: “Knives Out”
Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography: Roger Deakins, “1917”
NBR Icon Award: Martin Scorsese, Robert De Niro, Al Pacino
NBR Freedom of Expression Award: “For Sama”
NBR Freedom of Expression Award: “Just Mercy”

Copyright 2017-2024 Culture Mix