2020 Daytime Emmy Awards: ‘The Young and the Restless’ is the biggest winner

June 26, 2020

by Carla Hay

Daytime Emmy Awards

The cast of “The Young and the Restless” (Photo by Sonja Flemming/CBS)

With eight prizes, including Outstanding Drama Series, the CBS soap opera “The Young and the Restless” was the top winner at the 47th annual Daytime Emmy Awards, which for the first time was held as an all-virtual event that CBS televised on June 26, 2020. The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) had originally planned for the Daytime Emmys to be held from June 12 to 14, 2020, in Pasadena, California, but those plans were altered because of the coronavirus pandemic.

“The Talk” co-hosts Sharon Osbourne, Sheryl Underwood, Marie Osmond, Eve and Carrie Ann Inaba hosted the 2020 Daytime Emmy Awards. Nominees were asked to send prerecorded acceptance speeches, but only the winners’ acceptance speeches were shown during the two-hour telecast.

Here is a partial list of winners for the 2020 Daytime Emmy Awards. A complete list of winners can be found at the official Daytime Emmy Awards website.


Outstanding Drama Series
“The Bold and the Beautiful” (CBS)
“Days of Our Lives” (NBC)
“General Hospital” (ABC)
“The Young and the Restless” (CBS)*

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama
Finola Hughes as Anna Devane, “General Hospital” (ABC)
Katherine Kelly Lang as Brooke Logan, “The Bold and the Beautiful” (CBS)
Heather Tom as Katie Logan, “The Bold and the Beautiful” (CBS)*
Maura West as Ava Jerome, “General Hospital” (ABC)
Arianne Zucker as Nicole Walker, “Days of Our Lives” (NBC)

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama
Steve Burton as Jason Morgan, “General Hospital” (ABC)
Thorsten Kaye as Ridge Forrester, “The Bold and the Beautiful” (CBS)
Jon Lindstrom as Kevin Collins/Ryan Chamberlain, “General Hospital” (ABC)
Thaao Penghlis as Tony DiMera, “Days of Our Lives” (NBC)
Jason Thompson as Billy Abbott, “The Young and the Restless” (CBS)*

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series
Tamara Braun as Dr. Kim Nero, “General Hospital” (ABC)*
Rebecca Budig as Hayden Barnes, “General Hospital” (ABC)
Susan Seaforth Hayes as Julie Williams, “Days of Our Lives” (NBC)
Christel Khalil as Lily Winters, “The Young and the Restless” (CBS)
Annika Noelle as Hope Logan, “The Bold and the Beautiful” (CBS)

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series
Mark Grossman as Adam Newman, “The Young and the Restless” (CBS)
Wally Kurth as Justin Kiriakis, “Days of Our Lives” (NBC)
Bryton James as Devon Hamilton, “The Young and the Restless” (CBS)*
Chandler Massey as Will Horton, “Days of Our Lives” (NBC)
James Patrick Stuart as Valentin Cassadine, “General Hospital” (ABC)
Paul Telfer as Xander Kiriakis, “Days of Our Lives” (NBC)

Outstanding Younger Performer in a Drama Series
Sasha Calle as Lola Rosales, “The Young and the Restless” (CBS)
Olivia Rose Keegan as Claire Brady, “Days of Our Lives” (NBC)*
Katelyn MacMullen as Willow Tait, “General Hospital” (ABC)
Eden McCoy as Josslyn Jacks, “General Hospital” (ABC)
Thia Megia as Haley Chen, “Days of Our Lives” (NBC)

Outstanding Entertainment News Show
“Access Hollywood” (Syndicated)
“E! News” (E! Entertainment)
“Entertainment Tonight” (Syndicated)*
“Extra” (Syndicated)
“Inside Edition” (Syndicated)

Outstanding Writing Team for a Drama Series
“The Bold and the Beautiful” (CBS)*
“Days of Our Lives” (NBC)
“General Hospital” (ABC)
“The Young and the Restless” (CBS)

Outstanding Digital Daytime Drama Series
“After Forever” (Amazon Prime Video)
“The Bay The Series” (Amazon Prime Video)*
“Dark/Web” (Amazon Prime Video)
“Eastsiders” (Netflix)
“Studio City” (Amazon Prime Video)

Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show Host
Kelly Clarkson, “The Kelly Clarkson Show” (Syndicated)*
Sara Gilbert, Sharon Osbourne, Sheryl Underwood, Eve, Carrie Ann Inaba and Marie Osmond, “The Talk” (CBS)
Maury Povich, “Maury” (Syndicated)
Kelly Ripa and Ryan Seacrest, “Live with Kelly and Ryan” (Syndicated)
Michael Strahan, Sara Haines and Keke Palmer, “GMA3 Strahan, Sara & Keke” (ABC)

Outstanding Game Show Host
Wayne Brady, “Let’s Make a Deal” (CBS)
Steve Harvey, “Family Feud” (Syndicated)
Alfonso Ribeiro, “Catch 21” (Game Show Network)
Pat Sajak, “Wheel of Fortune” (Syndicated)
Alex Trebek, “Jeopardy” (Syndicated)*

Outstanding Game Show
“Are You Smarter Than A 5th Grader?” (Nickelodeon)
“Double Dare” (Nickelodeon)
“Family Feud” (Syndicated)
“Jeopardy” (Syndicated)*
“The Price Is Right” (CBS)

Outstanding Directing Team for a Drama Series
“The Bold and the Beautiful” (CBS)
“Days of Our Lives” (NBC)
“General Hospital” (ABC)*
“The Young and the Restless” (CBS)

Outstanding Talk Show/Entertainment
“The Ellen DeGeneres Show” (Syndicated)*
“GMA3 Strahan, Sara & Keke” (ABC)
“The Kelly Clarkson Show” (Syndicated)
“Live with Kelly and Ryan” (Syndicated)
“The Talk” (CBS)

Outstanding Talk Show/Informative
“Rachael Ray” (Syndicated)
“Red Table Talk” (Facebook Watch)
“The 3rd Hour of Today” (NBC)
“Today Show with Hoda & Jenna” (NBC)
“The View” (ABC)*

Outstanding Legal/Courtroom Program
“Hot Bench” (Syndicated)
“Judge Judy” (Syndicated)
“Judge Mathis” (Syndicated)
“Lauren Lake’s Paternity Court” (Syndicated)
“The People’s Court” (Syndicated)*

Outstanding Special Class Special
“93rd Annual Macy’s Thanksgiving Day” (NBC)
“Hate Among Us” (Popstar TV)
“Sesame Street’s 50th Anniversary Celebration” (HBO)*
“This Old House: 40th Anniversary Special” (PBS)
“The Young and the Restless: Kristoff St. John Tribute” (CBS)

Outstanding Culinary Program
“Barefoot Contessa: Cook Like a Pro” (Food Network)
“Giada Entertains” (Food Network)*
“Milk Street” (PBS)
“30 Minute Meals” (Food Network)
“Valerie’s Home Cooking” (Food Network)

Outstanding Morning Program
“CBS Sunday Morning” (CBS)
“CBS This Morning” (CBS)
“Good Morning America” (ABC)
“Sunday Today with Willie Geist” (NBC)
“Today Show” (NBC)*