2017 Songwriters Hall of Fame: presenters and performers announced

June 7, 2017

Songwriters Hall of Fame

The following is a press release from the Songwriters Hall of Fame:

Irving Azoff, Benny Blanco, Jon Bon Jovi, Kenneth Gamble & Leon Huff, Johnny Gill, Whoopi Goldberg, John Leguizamo, Pat Monahan, Kelli O’Hara , Usher and Cassandra Wilson will either present and/or perform at the 48th Annual Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Dinner slated for Thursday, June 15th at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in  New York City.

Inductees at this year’s event include Kenneth “Babyface” Edmonds, Berry Gordy, Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis, Robert Lamm & James Pankow p/k/a “Chicago,”  Max Martin, and  Shawn “Jay Z” Carter.  Caroline Bienstock will receive the Abe Oleman Publishing Award, Alan Menken will be honored with the Johnny Mercer Award, Pitbull will be the inaugural recipient of the Global Ambassador Award and Ed Sheeran will be awarded with the Hal David Starlight Award.

About The Songwriters Hall of Fame:

The Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrates songwriters, educates the public with regard to their achievements, and produces a spectrum of professional programs devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships.  To qualify for induction into the SHOF, a songwriter must be a published writer for a minimum of 20 years. Out of the tens of thousands of songwriters of our era, there are approximately 400 inductees who make up the impressive roster enshrined in the Hall of Fame.  The list includes Kenneth Gamble & Leon Huff, Barry Mann & Cynthia Weil, Jerry Leiber & Mike Stoller, Eddie Holland, Lamont Dozier & Brian Holland, Smokey Robinson, Albert Hammond, Desmond Child, Paul Williams, Hal David & Burt Bacharach, John Fogerty, Bob Dylan, Isaac Hayes & David Porter,  Carole King, Paul Simon, Billy Joel, Jon Bon Jovi & Richie Sambora, Elton John & Bernie Taupin, Brian Wilson, James Taylor, Don Schlitz, Bruce Springsteen, Phil Collins, Alan & Marilyn Bergman, Loretta Lynn, Jimmy Webb, Van Morrison, Kris Kristofferson, Dolly Parton, Diane Warren, Paul Anka, Stevie Wonder, Lionel Richie, Bill Withers, Neil Diamond, Steven Tyler & Joe Perry, Leonard Cohen, Ray Davies, Donovan, Cyndi Lauper,  Mick Jones & Lou Gramm, Chip Taylor, Elvis Costello, Marvin Gaye, Nile Rodgers & Bernard Edwards and Tom Petty among many others.

Full biographies and a complete list of inductees are available at the Songwriters Hall of Fame’s Virtual Museum at http://songwritershalloffame.org/.  Joining online is quick and easy: http://songhall.org/join

Ticket Information:

Tickets for the Songwriters Hall of Fame event begin at $1,250 each, and are available through Buckley Hall Events, 914-579-1000. Net proceeds from the event will go toward the Songwriters Hall of Fame programs.  Songwriters Hall of Fame is a 501(c)3 organization.  The non-deductible portion of each ticket is $170. Contributions, for which no goods or services are received in exchange, are fully tax-deductible as provided by law.

Copyright 2017-2024 Culture Mix